Welcome! Log In Create A New Account

Advanced

Wood Chips

Posted by Clair Kauffman 
Wood Chips
November 23, 2012 10:04AM
I'm just getting into the use of wood chips in our existing orchards and have questions about aging the chips. Are aged (as opposed to green) wood chips critical or are they just better? Can green chips deplete nitrogen to unhealthy levels? If they are green ramial wood chips (versus heart wood or bark mulch), does that offset nitrogen concerns?

Also, any input on how to undertake the aging process? I understand that turning the pile won't make the fungi happy, but wonder how long to leave them sit, is inoculation necessary, etc.?

Clair Kauffman
Zone 6b, Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Re: Wood Chips
December 07, 2012 11:50PM
A couple things to consider about using wood chips . There is a white rot that aids deciduous trees and orchards , and brown rots that aid coniferous trees and the forest floor. In deciduous trees a large part of the nutrients are "stored " in the ramial wood , branches that are about 2 1/2 inches and smaller. If you use wood larger than this the carbon to nitrogen ratio gets to large and then yes, you will tie up the nitrogen you are trying to get. So the best to use, deciduous ramial wood, and green or aged are fine.

I've never brought in chips to use, I just use my prunings. These will get chipped and shot at the base of a tree and I just go thru the orchard making little piles . They will get kicked down so they are about 4-5 inches in depth . They don't get any special treatment as I use neem, kelp, effective microbes regularly throughout the season to stimulate biological action.