Welcome! Log In Create A New Account

Advanced

How long before spraying sulfur again?

Posted by Nick Hall 
How long before spraying sulfur again?
May 09, 2016 02:48PM
Hello,

I'm an orchard newbie, helping out with about 150 apple trees that my grandpa had planted about 10 years ago. They were not previously sprayed so they had quite a lot of apple scab last year. I am not currently at the orchard location but I go over there every week and do what I can when I'm there.

I bought The Apple Grower book and have been learning about apples and am looking for a little clarification about spraying sulfur for scab.

I bought some micronized sulfur as recommended in the book and have sprayed it once so far, 4 days ago (we are in a cold climate so the stage was Tight Cluster, it hit first pink this weekend).

A day after I had sprayed the orchard got about 0.1" of rain.

I understand from the book that the sulfur seems to lose effectiveness after a while, perhaps 1 week if there is no rain you'd want to spray again?

I also understand that if there was a lot of rain then you would have to spray again to maintain coverage.

But what I'm unclear on is when spraying again is necessary in this case, where there was a little rain after the first spray (0.1" in our case). Did this 0.1" of rain wash off the sulfur?

There is a chance for 0.1" of rain tomorrow, which will have been 5 days since the previous spray. It seems at least 50/50 likely that the leaves will be wet long enough to get infected with scab, if they were unprotected, based on the leaf wetness vs temperature charts in the book.

But I'm wondering, is the spray that I did 5 days ago still providing coverage considering it got rained on a little? How much rain is enough to wash off the sulfur?

Thanks.
Re: How long before spraying sulfur again?
May 11, 2016 09:49AM