Neem, cold weather, and hard water
March 30, 2017 05:40PM
I have been using neem for a few years, but this year had an unpleasant experience. Last week, when I went to clean out my tank after spraying my orchard with neem and liquid fish, at double strength, I discovered most of the neem oil in granular sticky form clinging to the side of my tank. It was in the upper 40s outside, and my usual preparations (letting well water in 5 gallon pails warm indoors for a couple of days to about 68 degrees, so that my 25 gallon spray tank had only warmish water in it, plus the neem and soap mixed in probably 100 degree water before adding) apparently were insufficient. I consulted with the friendly folks at Ahimsa. They said cold weather and hard water are a bad combination and suggested I soften the water with citric acid. They didn't know the proportions.

I assume I do not want to use the softened water from the indoor tap; I never use that on my gardens or plants, so why would I spray it on my fruit trees; my understanding is that there are salts that remain in softened water.

So: Anyone used citric acid? In what form, and what proportions?

I also found that the Neem had re-solidified in the gallon container while sitting at room temp for a few days, before I got the rest parcelled out into batch-sized containers. So this batch of neem at least is solidifying below 70 degrees, not below 60 degrees, which I had thought was the threshold. Which means that warming the water to 68 degrees is also not doing enough. Not sure how to get 25 gallons to 75 or 80 degrees easily, or how to keep it warm long enough to finish spraying.

The neem has been stored in a cooler at about 38 degrees since last summer when I purchased it.

Turkey Creek Orchard
Solon, Iowa (zone 5A)
Re: Neem, cold weather, and hard water
March 30, 2017 09:27PM