Welcome! Log In Create A New Account

Advanced

Fungal connections in Kazakhstan

Posted by Michael Phillips 
Fungal connections in Kazakhstan
August 15, 2015 04:18PM
The domesticated apple made it by trade routes to Europe and from there to America. A traveler typically would have brought seeds along to sprout, all the more so on the first legs of this long journey. Import of Kazakhstan apple strains in the last few decades by researchers in Geneva and elsewhere have been seeds as well, I suspect. Open-pollinated serendipity is the principle focus, particularly as regards lost genetics on the disease immunity front. You can only cross a Red Delicious with a Golden Delicious so many times before important gene lines are lost in the pursuit of flavorless flavor.

I'm wondering about mycorrhizae species of fungi that have affiliation with Kazakhstan apple roots. These symbiotic fungi from the fruit forests where Malus domestica originated would include all species associated with any plants in that ecosystem, given the way mycorrhizae species trade with multiple partners in the soil. Has anyone looked into this? I certainly don't expect the soil food web from Asia to be the same as North America . . . but then again this partnership with soil fungi is the principle means by which plants hone immune function. Have we possibly overlooked one of the most basic connections in breeding more disease-resistant fruit?

Lost Nation Orchard
Zone 4b in New Hampshire
Re: Fungal connections in Kazakhstan
August 20, 2015 06:15PM
I would agree that there is ssurely important things lost in the transfer of seeds (only) to be grown on another continent. The soil born relationship of those same trees was paramount to their evolution. Is there perhaps soil fungi in Kazakhstan that are superior apple specific allies that may lead to healthier more capable trees?? I would venture a yes to that question.