Welcome! Log In Create A New Account

Advanced

Thought on diseased wild trees

Posted by Tom Kleffman 
Thought on diseased wild trees
December 11, 2018 08:39PM
I have been working for 3 years, slowly building an orchard from scratch with my kids, 4.5 miles south of Lake Superior, halfway between Cornucopia WI and Bayfield.

I have some wild seedling apples on the property, varying in age from 15-100 years old, that have an incredibly variety of apples, but most of them have serious disease issues.

Was thinking, to preserve the heritage of the property, but rid myself of diseased wild trees, to cut them down, burn the wood, and stool the stumps, either pruning to one or just making clones I place elsewhere.

Space is not an issue for me. I am doing nearly all full sized trees anyway and have 23 of 40 acres open for planting. I am simply wondering if there is anyone who has taken the route of rejuvenating ancient trees by cutting them down?

(I have made graft copies of most, just in my mind, for a long time an apple tree has been in that spot/s and maybe by just cutting the top off, I can make a new disease free copy in the exact spot).

Thoughts?

Tom Kleffman
Re: Thought on diseased wild trees
December 15, 2018 04:56PM
I'm going to ask you to clarify a couple points, Tom, in hopes this will give others enough information to respond.