Welcome! Log In Create A New Account

Advanced

Timing regarding spraying for scab

Posted by Molly DellaRoman 
Timing regarding spraying for scab
May 06, 2018 04:49PM
Hello all,
This is my first time posting. My partner Tim and I purchased an existing orchard in Brooklin, ME last winter. The orchard began in the late 80's and has many different varieties of heirloom apples and pears, Asian pears, peaches and plums. It has always been certified organic. They have been on a sulfur spray program for scab for the life of the orchard. Scab is definitely an issue that we are trying to address with lime on leaf litter in the fall and improving the orchard floor with aged wood chips. It is going to take us a little while to get things in balance before we can decrease/eliminate the sulfur. We sprayed our first application on the apples and pears last Tuesday during green tip. We used a sticker with it and had a small amount of rain on Thursday and today (Sunday). With the sticker and fairly insignificant rainfall, we were hoping not to spray for 7-10 days. My question is however, we are not expecting any rain here until about a week from now. Is it all right to extend the time between the sprays if you are not receiving rain, or is it better to spray every week or so no matter what (considering we are right on the ocean and have fog most mornings). Just trying to figure out how to spray as little as possible! Thanks for any advice!

5 Star Nursery and Orchard
Zone 5, Brooklin, ME
Re: Timing regarding spraying for scab
May 07, 2018 03:23PM
Hi Molly,

A HON welcome and cheers to your first post!

Congratulations on your new orchard purchase

Question for you and your partner. . . What do you plan to do with the apples? Is this a business for you two? Are you going to be selling them or using them more for yourselves